Dear CEO,
We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On the March 16, 2010, we received a formal application from a company called "kuan International Holdings Ltd" who are applying to register "canofthoughts" as domain name and internet keyword.
After our initial examination, we found that the keyword and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's keyword and trademark.We don't know whether you have any relation with them. These days we are dealing with it.If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other purposes to buy these domain names.If they are your business partner or distributor in the asia,we will automatically confirm application from your business partner after this audit procedure. Now we have not finished the registration of "kuan International Holdings Ltd" yet, in order to deal with this issue better.Please contact us by email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Rambo.Dong
Sponsoring Registrar: sk holdings company ltd
HongKong Office
Tel:+85295660103 / +85295660489
Fax:+862169950106
Email: rambo.dong@skdmrc.org
Web: www.asia-gov.com / www.sk-dns.org
Address: 3A, Units 20/F, Far East Consortium Bldg., 121 Des Voeux Road, Central, Hong Kong
So I replied with this.
Hello,
"canofthoughts" has been my domain for a couple of years now and I dont have any relation with Kuan International company. It cannot be registered with anybody else as I have the copyright and trademark of this keyword and domain name.
Thanks,
And they reply with this:
Dear,
Thanks for your prompt reply.
We knew you have registered the domain name "canofthoughts.com" and own the trademark "canofthoughts", this is why we informed you. But now “kuan company” do not want to register your trademark or domain name "canofthoughts.com", they wanted to apply for other domain names and keyword you have not registered yet. Because domain name takes open registration, this is international domain name registration principle. So “kuan company” has right to register it. As a domain name registrar, we have no right to dispute their application. So required by Asia government to inform your company to protect your interest. As the owner of "canofthoughts.com", you will get the priority to register these domain names and keywords.
If you think their registration will confuse your clients and harm your profits, we can send an application form to you and help you register these within dispute period. This is the only way to prevent domain name grab. Hope get your decision ASAP, so that we can handle the next step.
Good luck all day
Does it sounds like scam to you? I feel like these people are trying to scam me in submitting something to them so nobody can register my domain. Don't you just hate it when other people are trying to scam you? I don't understand about these people who wants to take advantage of other people. It's like big companies hurting small time business owners.
Did you received any similar email like this? If you do, don't forget to share the email so we can help each other stop these scammers.




13 Comments:
Yes it's a scam and I know of others that have received the same sort of messages. If you have questions, go back to the company you originally registered your domain with.
I received the exact same email with only my domain name on it. I think its a scam
It's a definite scam. What they're trying to do (in very poor, broken English) is get you to register your domain name in Asian markets, with Asian extensions. They'll probably charge you ridiculous fees, too.
Don't sweat it. You own your domain name, which you registered through a valid ICANN registrar. No international company can mess with it - especially one who can't form coherent sentences. :)
Hi Guys just got the same bloody email, I was worried at first, but now very very relieved that you guys have had the same experience and that it is a scam!
Thanks for the help guys,
We have received the same email today. 'kuan International Holdings Ltd' does not exist. Scam - bin and ignore.
I just got the same email and was skeptical about it. So I searched about it that is why I came across you post. Thanks for sharing this...
Exactly the same email, definitely a scam
FYI: Just had the same email from the same Rambo Dong (?!) but this time with regards to an "enquiry" by a company going by the name of "Kuben International Holdings Ltd"
Best advice? Just delete & ignore the email :-)
Just got the same email here in South Africa... This IS A SCAM! Take everyone elses advice and bin.
why do they bother and THANK YOU for posting it on here AND being good enough with SEO to make it appear easily in the searches for all receivers of such email to find and confirm it as a scam!
mind you, if they wanted to buy my domain name for loads of dosh, they are welcome to do so! lol
''Dear CEO,
We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On the June. 01, 2010, we received a formal application from a company called "Kuben International Holdings Ltd" who are applying to register "xxxmydomainnamexxx" as domain name and internet keyword.
After our initial examination, we found that the keyword and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's keyword and trademark.We don't know whether you have any relation with them. These days we are dealing with it.If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other purposes to buy these domain names.If they are your business partner or distributor in the asia,we will automatically confirm application from your business partner after this audit procedure. Now we have not finished the registration of "Kuben International Holdings Ltd" yet, in order to deal with this issue better.Please contact us by email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Rambo.Dong
Sponsoring Registrar: sk holdings company ltd
HongKong Office
Tel:00852 956 60489
Fax:00852 306 96940
Web: www.asia-gov.com , www.asiadm.org
Address: 3A, Units 20/F, Far East Consortium Bldg., 121 Des Voeux Road, Central, Hong Kong''
Same with me today. I own .co.uk and .eu versions of our domain and .com was already taken, so I don't care what they do with the rest of the domains out there.
I just received the same email - luckily keyed in Kubee international on Google and it led me to your site - thank you.
These are the contact details the scammers left:
Email: rambo.dong@skdmrc.org
With that email address, it is certainly no legitimate organisation!
Thanx for the confirmation that this is a scam.
Kim Roscoe
Post a Comment
Don't forget to leave your comment. If you have a question you can email me at labyouqt@canofthoughts.com